Five Years on Cold Asphalt cover

QuarzFive Years on Cold Asphalt

Crónica 070 CD

Release: 3 September 2012

Get from Bandcamp

  1. Étienne
  2. Oiseau
  3. Eiffel
  4. Ton
  5. Nice
  6. Avec

On Five Years on Cold Asphalt the collaborations with Bernier, Németh, Schubert and Siewert were expanded by the special guests Bernhard Breuer (Elektro Guzzi, Metalycée) on drums and David Schweighart (Tupolev) with some delicate field recordings. Recording iteratively with each of the seven musicians, the new material was gradually implemented, so that each new collaborator came across a new version of the piece, already elaborated by his forerunners. This was a long process that demanded a particularly extensive mixing work but that nevertheless results in a very organic-sounding piece, therefore turning the mixing and the recording to almost coequal artistic tasks.

Five Years on Cold Asphalt is characterized by an electronic sound that is subtly subverted by a whiff of improvisation. It combines the vividness of a live collaboration with the precision of a studio project.


Press-release / Reviews