Morten RiisLad enhver lyd minde os om

Lad enhver lyd minde os om Lad enhver lyd minde os om

CrĂłnica 186~2022 Tape

Release date: 17 May 2022


  1. HĂĄbet (01:37)
  2. det der blænder (02:57)
  3. vores utilstrækkelighed. (02:57)
  4. Det strĂĄlende lys der klinger (01:40)
  5. den sol ingen kan slĂĄ ned. (02:54)
  6. Solstøjens forvandling, mod (02:56)
  7. skrøbelighedens (03:28)
  8. ro. (02:58)
  9. Sindets (03:06)
  10. vildfarelse, mod (02:59)
  11. tomhedens svingninger. (01:40)
  12. Elegiernes sange om (01:19)
  13. den støjende sol (02:58)
  14. forenelse, i (01:39)
  15. stilhed (03:03)
  16. hĂĄb (01:34)

The first solo release by Morten Riis since 2009 presents his newest endeavours into the broken worn-out world of cassette tapes and modified tape players. Lad enhver lyd minde os om [Let every sound reminds us of] wreathes around our conceptions regarding a sense of togetherness, perishability, the inherent sensuousness of objects and potential poetic statements coupled with humans’ belief that through language and representation we can control everything around us. The album is composed on homemade synthesisers and modified 4-track cassette recorders, thus creating a music-technological poetic that underlines the specificity of media and the human-object participatory democracy that creates what we normally conceptualise as an artistic expression. It is a slow process in which several melodic elements are layered to create an expression in which the individual voices vanish in myriads of noise and textures. Behind the often-chaotic roaring sea of tape mediation, melodic structures emerge, like sunken forgotten memories in our minds.

The full-length cassette release is accompanied by Lad den samme lyd minde os om [Let the same sound reminds us of], 25 loop unique cassette tapes handcrafted by Morten Riis and containing the original source material for the compositions.

Limited release loop tapes


Cover photo by Trine Søndergaard, Interior #12, 2010, courtesy of the artist and Martin Asbæk Gallery. Mastered at Crónica.

This release is supported by Koda’s Cultural Funds & The Danish Arts Foundation.

Press release