@cHalf-Life, Still Life

Half-Life, Still Life

Crónica 077~2013 download

Release date: 12 April 2013


  1. 82 (29:04)
  2. 83e (13:08)
  3. 84 (35:44)

“82” was initially composed in Ljubljana during a residency promoted by MoTA – Museum of Transitory Art. It was premiered in the Sonica:Post festival at the Galerija Jacopič on 25 June 2009 and further developed until 2011. The stereo version included in this release was created from a 4-channel original.

“83” was commissioned by Marcus Gammel, composed from the Ljubljana sessions and premiered on Deutschlandradio Kultur, Hörspiel/Klangkunst in late 2009.

“84” was premiered at Gear (Covilhã) and developed over performances at Museu de Serralves (Porto), Sonicscope (Teatro Maria Matos, Lisboa), Next Festival (A4, Bratislava), Electric Spring (University of Huddersfield) and Sonores (Fábrica ASA, Guimarães) from 2010 to 2012. The stereo version included in this release was created from a 4-channel original.

Miguel Carvalhais and Pedro Tudela work together as @c since 2000, developing a regular musical collaboration and joining forces with the Austrian artist Lia in audiovisual work.

Their work is developed from three complimentary approaches to sound art and digital music: procedural composition, concrète sound and improvisation. Over the years they have been developing complex and structured compositions, with one foot in the fields of experimental, contemporary sound art and the other in live performance. If on one hand their compositions are usually built around strong structural foundations, it’s also common that multiple cells of sound are freed from these structures when integrated into the work, developing elaborate strategies of deconstruction.

Improvisation, either in dialogue or discussion, is central to @c’s performances, as is the will to create open compositions and to nurture ongoing processes that digitally amplify sound realities.

Pedro Tudela is an artist and a musician. He teaches at the Painting Department of the Faculty of Fine Arts, University of Porto (FBAUP).

Miguel Carvalhais is a designer and musician. He teaches at the Design Department of FBAUP.


@c would like to thank: Ana Ferreira, Cristina Grande, Daniel Tóth, Drumming, Evelyn Rigova, Gustavo Costa, Colönia’s Joana Machado & João Cruz, João Dias, Jonathan Uliel Saldanha, José Fonseca, Júlio Dolbeth, Lia, Marc Behrens, Marcus Gammel, Martin Bricelj, Miquel Bernat, Monty Adkins, Neja Tomšič, Nuno Aragão, Nuno Aroso, Nuno Moita, Paulo Vinhas, Pedro Almeida, Pedro Rocha, Pierre Alexandre Tremblay, Rosi Avelar, Rudolfo Quintas, Slávo Krekovič.

Press release