Piotr KurekHeat


Crónica 068~2012 download

Release date: 5 June 2012


  1. Circles (05:31)
  2. Coda (05:37)
  3. Organ Slide (05:16)
  4. Heat (06:52)
  5. There (01:32)
  6. Time Takes What It Wants (06:21)
  7. Missing Paths (01:05)
  8. She (05:03)

Piotr Kurek’s “Heat” was originally released in December 2011 as a limited edition cassette by Digitalis LTD. Sold out shortly after the original release date, Crónica is proud to release it in digital format.

Most of the sounds in “Heat” originate from various exotic records, from documentary movies or archives, or were recorded in studio using vintage organs, electric piano and synthesizers. Starting from an original idea of creating a specific music concrète album deeply rooted in archival nature, “Heat” emerged as a rich organ-infused tropicalia where everything was blurred in greenish-brown and sultry air.

Original cassette released by Digitalis LTD with cover art by Brad Rose.

Piotr Kurek is a Warsaw based musician known from his numerous aliases, albums released for Crónica, Digitalis, Sangloplasmo, Dunno Recordings, collaborations (most notably with Sylvia Monnier as Suaves Figures, Hubert Zemler as Piętnastka and Francesco de Gallo as ABRADA), works for theatre and rather peculiar DJ-sets (as one of the founders of Brutaż and Smutaż parties in Warsaw).


All tracks were written by Piotr Kurek (Vox and Philips organs, Rhodes, modular, found sounds) during the Spring and Autumn of 2011. Trombone on “She” by Marcin Kowalczuk.

Press release