Ran SlavinBittersweet Melodies

Bittersweet Melodies

Crónica 109~2016 CD

CD sold out

Release date: 19 April 2016


  1. Saturday’s Dress (6:09)
  2. Category: Murdered Entertainers (7:12)
  3. Disruptive Lounge (3:11)
  4. Fake Sunsets (3:26)
  5. Dubai Dawn (5:03)
  6. Sad But True (5:05)
  7. Sinatra Was Here (5:01)
  8. The Pineapple Assassin (6:06)
  9. Collapsing Melody (3:55)
  10. Fast Moving Circumstances (4:57)
  11. Deserted New Buildings (3:59)
  12. Discreet Features (6:09)

Bittersweet Melodies, Ran Slavin’s 11th studio album, dives into crime time ambient poster sunsets, Middle East noire, slow zones of scratched utopian atmospheres, lazy scattered DSP lounge, fractured low-fi beats, vinyl postcard vignettes, deserted new buildings electronica. Unreleased material that was long scattered across disparate hard drives and closely associated to a release on Mille Plateaux 12 years ago, prior to its abrupt closure, have been put together, furbished, separated from digital dust, polished, remastered, and re-fired into the ether.

Ran Slavin is a multi faceted artist who works primarily with video installation, sound and film. His work explores fiction and prismatic forms and narratives through video and sound installation and can be interpreted as an expansion of cinematic forms, usually utilizing post production and compositing sensibilities as tools of subversion and reality enhancement. His work often embraces the tension between fact and fiction, supernatural and mythical, history and futurism and compels the viewer to wander beyond reality and the immediate, into a prism of digital superposition.

Slavin has released recordings on Crónica, Mille Plateaux, Sub Rosa, False Ind, to name a few and shared stage and concert lineups with Thomas Köner, Aphex Twin, Vladislav Delay, Alva Noto, Klimek, Random INC, AGF, Rechenzentrum & Lillevan, Maja Ratkje & HC Gilje, Stephan Mathieu, Janek Schaefer, @c, Nico (ex Velvet Underground), Crime and the City Solution, The Folk Devils, World Domination Enterprises and many more.


Press release