Crónica 055~2010


Arturas Bumšteinas Pastoral

  • All music by Arturas Bumšteinas, 2003, 2009, 2010, Vilnius / Warsaw / Berlin.
  • Mastered by MC.
  • Cover photo by Anton Lukoszevieze.
  1. Boletus Satanas
  2. Dough
  3. Violin, Viola and Untitled
  4. Widna

Unlimited Release


Boletus Satanas

Laimonas Masevičius: tuba. Recorded in the studio of Lithuanian Composers’ Union in January of 2010.

Once I was picking mushrooms in thick Polish forest and i found this mushroom called Borowik Szatana. Encounters with Satan always leave long lasting impressions. A bit later I came up with the concept of Polish Roulette which is simple – “go to the forest and eat the first mushroom you find there”. This piece sounds better if sped up substantially. Dedicated to Krzysztof Gutfranski.


Lina Lapelytė: violin; Tuto Ensemble: kanklės, birbynė, barškutis.

This piece was recorded live in an open-air concert which celebrated City of Vilnius as an European capital of culture in June of 2009. If listened on high volume (and preferably on headphones) then in the beggining it‘s possible to hear faintly somebody saying “Ė, nachuj” and in the end, together with the applause, one can hear an audience member saying “Ačiū už pabaigą, blet”. Let it never be translated into english language but rather kept preserved as an unique stratum of our complex cultural heritage. This piece is dedicated to Birutė Asevičiūtė who commissioned me to write it.

Violin, Viola and Untitled

Lina Lapelytė: violin; Kęstutis Pleita: viola.

Recorded live in Marių Klavyrai festival in Klaipėda in October of 2003. This piece could be approached as an exercise in several kinds of superimpositions in micro and macro levels. Micro level is taken care by computer which multiplies the same layers of extremely short loops and superimposes them on top of each other – this way producing minimalistic variations of timbre. Macro level is intended for harmonic explorations which is carried out by string instruments who play the canon of identical harmonic series. This piece is dedicated to an empty room.


Seth Josel: guitar; Eva Zöllner: accordion.
Recorded in “Studio 10 0 10” in Berlin (sound engineer Jacopo Carreras) in December of 2009.

“il Widna” means “an ear” in Maltese language. In Polish it means “bright”. Somehow this reminds me of the title of my recent exhibition called “Transparent Ears”. But this long piece is in no way transparent nor related to my visual arts. Dedicated to Miguel Carvalhais.


Reviews, Press-release


A lot of hard work is invested in these releases and in Crónica’s operations. We do not believe in DRM and we certainly don’t want to create any barriers between you and our releases, so, all of the Unlimited Releases will be free to download, but if you can, please consider to leave us a small donation for the benefit of both artists and label. Don’t forget to leave us your address, so that we can send you a thank you postcard in return.